threadtime

A journal of quilting, sewing and otherwise creating.

Liberty and Linen

6 Comments

Alyssa at PileOFabric recently started a PinItSewIt link up.  Great incentive to get projects finished!

This month, I have finally used my Liberty of London charm squares!  Living in the United States, the exchange rate makes Liberty of London lawn terribly expensive.  VeryBerryFabrics offered these charm squares at a very reasonable rate, and I grabbed a couple packs.  I’ve been holding them until I found something I loved.  VeryBerryHandmade posted a baby quilt of charm squares of linen and Liberty.  It was simple and just so lovely.

Robert Kaufman’s Essex Linen in Flax worked really well in this quilt.  It didn’t photo well at all.  The colors are washed out and the linen’s color isn’t showing well, but I’m really pleased with it.  It’s is only about 36 x 46, so I want to add borders to increase the size.  In this post Alyssa @ PileOFabrics displays the triangular pieces below that I really liked.  At this point, these are my top choice to use in the borders.Image

That’s mine for the day.  What are you up to?

Happy sewing!

Author: ThreadTime

Sewing is good for the soul ... unless a seam ripper is involved.

6 thoughts on “Liberty and Linen

  1. I love that you used the linen. I have some essex linen I haven’t got to play with yet. I was actually thinking about doing a little tutorial on how to make those triangles, maybe I will do that soon.

    • I still haven’t given these triangles a shot yet. You had talked me through the “how to” in an email when you originally posted these. The shades of green is still my favorite of these triangles. I think a tutorial would go over well! Thanks for the inspiration, Alyssa.

  2. These are sooo pretty!!! I love that turquoise chevron print! The triangles are going to look great with this. :)

    • Thanks for stopping by, Jessica. It’s funny you liked the chevron print. That’s the one print that stood out among all the others and I almost pulled it out and used in another project. I do wish the colors had come through better in the photo. The fabrics are really pretty. Have fun sewing!

  3. Wow – this looks fantastic! I am so pleased to see what you made with the fabrics you bought from me…!

    • I’m so glad you stopped by. Thanks for the compliment, but I’ve totally copied you…imitation being the sincerest form of flattery. LOL. It’s been fun playing with the Liberty of London and I do love the Liberty and linen combination.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 122 other followers