Life since QuiltCon…

I can’t believe it’s been a month since the last post.  Since then, I’ve attended QuiltCon and had a blast.  I came back to a sewing room that needed to be put back together after installing my new Juki 8700H .. :-D!  Then it was buying a new table and creating a false top to create a sewing table.  It was a couple weeks before I could even get to the sewing machine.  Withdrawal, anyone?!

So here are a few photos from the last few weeks:

 

with Angela Walters in her Free Motion Quilting workshop.
with Angela Walters in her Free Motion Quilting workshop.
Lotta and I
Lotta Jansdotter teaching a block printing worksop

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I took two free motion quilting workshops with Angela Walters and sewed on a long arm for the first time.  It would take me a while to get used to the way they move.  Angela is a fun teacher and I love her attitude that allows mistakes and encourages, in her words, “just go for it.”

Lotta Jansdotter‘s block printing workshop was a lot of fun.  She talked about her design process and the tools she uses when creating designs.  It was so interesting.  She was such a sweet person.

When I got home I started working on my sewing table.  I had been sewing on folding tables topped with foam insulation to bring it flush with machine bed.  My 820 is a little heavy for that setup.  Picked up a $100 table at Ivan Smith Furniture and built a false table.  Like it, but I already have some adjustments if I were to do it over.  You can see below the table has a cut out where the machine sits.  The machine had to be lifted 1/4″ to bring it flush.  I also needed an extension off the table for my machine which is pretty long, so I used a 1/4″ piece of plywood and some 2×2’s to create that extension.

3/4" plywood lifted on 2x4's
3/4″ plywood lifted on 2×4’s. Slot at rear of table goes full width. Slot at front of table goes halfway back. Plastic drawer divider fits at front and holds machine feet and accessories.
SewTable2
Front view. Drawer divider fits in front left slot between 2×4’s. Required an extension for the length on my Bernina 820
SewTable7
Back side view behind machine. Acrylic Sew Fine extension table fits flush to the false table top. Can see rolled vinyl at rear of table. These rolls can be stored in that slot the width of the table.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I think that’s enough for today.  I actually have a photo of my haul from the QuiltCon vendors which include an awesome book called the Adventures of the Amazing Alphabet by Pam Holland.  I ordered that one from Sewing Party and received two by accident.   Sewing Party is allowing me to give the spare to a lucky reader.  Stay tuned.  That is coming next week.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Life since QuiltCon…

  1. What a great table top! I just moved and will be working on the sewing room/guest room this week! It’s small, so it’ll be a challenge to try to get all the “functionality” we want out of that room! 🙂

Leave a comment