Star Surround Progress

ReidThis has been a busy week!  My daughter gave me a new grandson Tuesday before last and I have spent half days at her house this week giving her a hand.  I have loved being able to help her out and spend some time with the little fella.  I normally don’t post a lot of personal stuff, but I’ve got to include a couple photos.  How cute is he?!

IMG_1201_742 IMG_1200_741

 

This is big brother’s reaction.  I’m sure the sweet will wear off when little brother gets a little bigger and starts getting into his stuff!

 

 

Aug13 CollageWith everything going on, I haven’t gotten a lot of sewing done.  This weekend I tried to cram as much sewing in as I could.

I worked a little on a quilt for the baby.  I pieced this block in browns.  This may be a quilt for my son-in-law’s Christmas.  I’m thinking I’m liking it.  Then there was the churn dash block for the Gamboge-Simply Solid Bee.

 

StarSurroundHST2AND THEN…there was all of the half square triangles for my Star Surround quilt!  I’m making the 16 block version and I may have bitten off more than I can chew.  I’ve gotten all of my 4″ blocks sewn, cut and pressed and I have started trimming the blocks.  Man!  It’s been a chore.

I do think I’m going to like them though.  I’m going scrappy and I’m not always sure I’m choosing the right fabrics until the blocks start coming together.  I have high hopes for this one.

I was hoping this photo would give a sense of the mound of squares here, but it doesn’t look half as intimidating in photo as it does in person!

There’s other stuff going on like the vintage Singer sewing table I picked up (and now need to rebuild the top!), but I will save that for another day.

I hope you had a splendid weekend and have an awesome week.  Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Star Surround Progress

  1. I know, that is so much trimming and it is pretty brutal on your hand. I watched Pride and Prejudice while trimming (or more listened to it and looked up at my favorite parts) for some reason, that seems to make the trimming task more managable 😉 Great job on getting all of that sewing done!

    1. I do the same thing! LOL Usually it’s Harry Potter, but I think it was Bourne Ultimatum this weekend. Thanks for the encouragement. You are putting in a lot of time on this QAL. Thanks so much for putting this together.

Leave a Reply

