PDF Sewing Patterns

MarfyFreePatternsMarfy just offered a few free patterns that I immediately took advantage of.   If you’re interested in giving them a try, take a look at my previous post for more details.

MarfySkirt CollageJust a warning for others like me printing on 8.5 x 11″ paper, these patterns are drafted for A4 paper which is a bit longer.  I printed the skirt on 8.5 x 11″ and made it work but it was a bit short.  At the bottom of some pages slips of paper were inserted to make up what was missing.

For the jacket I switched to 8.5 x 14″ paper and it worked much better.  One tricked I learned in the past was to trim the bottom and right sides of each pattern piece.  It makes matching pages much easier.

Marfy seems tricky since there are no instructions included, but if you’ve sewn garments before, then a lot is intuitive.  Marfy marks their match points with letters, matching ‘A’ to ‘A’, etc., and putting the pieces together make sense.

Marfy1756Layout

 

BraziliaPatternLayoutAnother pattern I worked on is the Brazilia Dress by Rachel at House of Pinheiro.  This is  a new pattern  and I was lucky enough to be one of her testers.  The pattern is beautifully drafted and, other than that tricky deep ‘V’ at the side, went together well.  It’s all put together and waiting on my daughters to get back in town for a fitting.

What I should have been doing is cleaning house and working on that Little French Jacket.  Maybe tomorrow after church.

How about you?  Have you been working on anything fun?

4 thoughts on “PDF Sewing Patterns

  1. One of those European/American things. 😀 I was in Germany for a couple weeks and was fascinated by the different sized notebooks. Silly really.
    A4 is 8.5 x 11.5, if I remember correctly. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

